W. Sunnyside Lane, Tarrytown
The picturesque "Snuggery" home of author Washington Irving, famous for "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow", sits on the banks of the Hudson River amid a wonderfully romantic landscape. Guides in mid-Victorian costumes offer tours of the meticulously restored house.
635 S. Broadway, Tarrytown
This 1838 Gothic Revival mansion was occupied by three prominent New York City families, including financier Jay Gould. Now the fully furnished property of the National Trust for Historic Preservation offers one of the finest examples of nineteenth-century estate landscapes, with splendid grounds and gardens.
42 N. Broadway, Tarrytown
Built in 1685 by wealthy Dutch Loyalist Frederick Philipse, this sacred edifice and adjoining burying ground is considered the oldest functioning church and cemetery in New York State. Simple interior features include a distinctive wooden pulpit and sounding-board canopy.
Route 9, Sleepy Hollow
A late 17th/early 18th century working farm and grist-mill established by Frederick Philipse. Reenactments of everyday chores from the era are conducted on-site. The stone manor boasts a rich collection of early New York and European furniture, as well as Dutch Delft ceramics and continental brass. Tours to Kykuit depart from here.
The expansive estate home to four generations of the Rockefeller family. Commanding a breathtaking view of the Hudson River, it features extensive stone terraces, formal gardens, glorious fountains, and Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller's collections of 20th century sculpture, art, automobiles and horse-drawn carriages.
Kingsland Point Park, Sleepy Hollow
1883 lighthouse with near-perfect performance record during its 78 years of operation. The only Caisson-style lighthouse on the Hudson.
555 Bedford Rd., Sleepy Hollow
The Union Church was organized as a non-denominational, Protestant church in 1915. Mr. and Mrs. John D. Rockefeller were among the founding members. The Rockefellers commissioned the work of two masters, Marc Chagall and Henri Matisse, for ten stained glass windows throughout the church. Matisse completed the design for the rose window over the chancel just two days before his death in 1954.
333 N. Bedford, Rd., Mt. Kisco
Exciting 120,000 sq ft. indoor open-wheel racing with video arcade, dining and lounge. Racing enthusiasts gear up in suits, helmets and protective collars before starting their Italian Sodi RX7 engines!